Creature of Habit

That’s what I am – a creature of habit. Not all of them are bad. In the past two years (and much to my amazement) I’ve made daily prayer a habit. [Yes, I know that comes off like a boast, but it isn’t. Daily prayer should have been a habit carried over from my childhood, and it’s not to my credit that I had to reacquire it.]
In the struggle, I learned a secret. Good habits and bad habits are indistinguishable. They are equally hard (impossible!) for me to break, and equally hard for me to establish.

And I learned that one can be used to disrupt the other.

The big lesson is one I knew all along, of course. Our lives really are all about the decisions we make, the big ones and the little ones.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholism, Personal

Leave a Reply

