I Am Thankful

…today, for:
my wife. Today I had a memory of life as a bachelor at Thanksgiving. At that moment, I was immensely grateful for her presence, her grace and her help in getting through each day.

my job. This year I’ve had the privilege and pleasure of working on a mission that, God willing, will be news in about 9 and a half years. I’ll be somewhere else by then, I’m sure, but I will be proud to remember that I contributed to its success. Just yesterday I received news that my contract will be renewed for a year, and for that, I am thankful.

my country. There are solders who are fighting in my name at this very moment, and for them – to them – I am grateful. They are living in miserable conditions to defend my freedoms, and for that, I am thankful.

my brothers and my sister, all of whom are hard working, God fearing and wonderful to know. (And just in case any one of my brothers get too full of themselves, just remember that my sister is the best businessman of ’em all). I am thankful (is there a word beyond thankful?) for my parents, hale and hearty at about the age of 75 (well, my mom is 39) who have done more for their children than they (I) know.

the teachers, classmates and friends who have taught me so much. I remember them, and I am thankful.

my God and my Savior, Jesus Christ, who has made this for me (and for which, I am in awe).

Happy Thanksgiving.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholism, Personal

Leave a Reply

