Happy New Year!

I’ve just finished what I’m certain is the very best year I’ve ever had (and I’ve had a few).

I remember writing, not too many years ago, just the opposite, and that, after a long string of worst-ever years. It’s not fun living that way, I can assure you.

But now, my home life and my work life have never been better. My parents are hale and hearty, my brothers and sister still close, and nephews and nieces growing strong. My wife’s family is expanding, and from what I can tell at a distance, finding themselves.

The country is less divided than it seemed just a year ago, despite what some on the DailyKos are arguing.

The world has seen too many misfortunes this year, starting with the terrible tsunami that killed over 200,000 at the end of 2004, and continuing with hurricanes and earthquakes. Still, mankind has survived, pretty much intact (and you knew that it would). The world’s (and especially this country’s) outpouring of generosity was amazing to behold, and almost swamped the corruption and mis-use of monies destined for the victims.

The big winners of the year were bloggers like Michelle Malkin and the psudomonous Neo-Neocon who garnered respect world wide for timely news and commentary. The big losers nationally were the network TV news programs, who lost three top journalist this year, and most especially, the New York Times, who haven’t quite figured out that they are dinosaurs. Internationally, the biggest winners were the people of Iraq, followed by the people of Ukraine, both of whom took major steps to democracy. And of course, the biggest losers internationally were Islamic terrorists, especially Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, who lost their bid for power in Iraq and failed pretty badly in terrorist attacks in London. Of course, we saw nothing like that in this country, yet again, except in the fevered imaginings of some reporters holed up in the Superdome in New Orleans. I will concede, however, that Paris is a success for Islamic Militants, and will continue to be so until Chirac leaves office. I fear what has been happening in Canada but I am bouyed by the reaction of our friends to the North.

I’m eagerly anticipating the launch of New Horizons spacecraft and it’s mission to Pluto (and beyond).

My best to you and yours in the coming year.

Explore posts in the same categories: Personal

Leave a Reply

