"First They Came For The Rednecks"

Being from Buffalo, I have a warm spot for Canada and Canadians in particular. My first drink after mother’s milk was Carling’s Black Label. And by the way, if you haven’t had Buffalo Chicken Wings with Genny Creme Ale, you haven’t had Buffalo Wings.

My friends from the North seem to be having some problems with their left wing, of late.

I mentioned last week the case Mohamed Elmasry and the Canadian Islamic Congress have brought against Maclean’s magazine for publishing Mark Steyn — simultaneously before multiple human rights commissions, a tactic that is itself an egregious abuse of process. It is a case that should clang alarm bells right across Canada. Yet we’ve heard only a few modest tinkles.

The case has gotten some play in the Blogosphere, so I won’t elaborate much beyond the well written RCP article. What’s surprising is the lack of reaction beyond that.

[T]o paraphrase the late Pastor Martin Niemöller: “First they came for the redneck trolls, and I did not speak out because I was not a redneck troll. Then they came for the male chauvinist pigs, and I did not speak out because I was not a male chauvinist pig. Then they came for Mark Steyn, and I did not speak out because I was not Mark Steyn. Then they came for me, and there was no one left to speak out for me.”

– on both sides of the border, apparently.

Explore posts in the same categories: foreign, Personal, politics

Leave a Reply

