What Happens When A Committed Leftist Blasphemes?

Alexander Cockburn confesses his sins.

[F]rom left to right, the warming that is occurring today is taken as being man-made, and many have made it into the central plank of their political campaigns. For reasons I find very hard to fathom, the environmental left movement has bought very heavily into the fantasy about anthropogenic global warming and the fantasy that humans can prevent or turn back the warming cycle.

So what happens when a leftist denies that mankind is destroying the planet?

Since I started writing essays challenging the global warming consensus, and seeking to put forward critical alternative arguments, I have felt almost witch-hunted. There has been an hysterical reaction. One individual, who was once on the board of the Sierra Club, has suggested I should be criminally prosecuted. I wrote a series of articles on climate change issues for the Nation, which elicited a level of hysterical outrage and affront that I found to be astounding – and I have a fairly thick skin, having been in the business of making unpopular arguments for many, many years.There was a shocking intensity to their self-righteous fury, as if I had transgressed a moral as well as an intellectual boundary and committed blasphemy. I sometimes think to myself, Boy, I’m glad I didn’t live in the 1450s’, because I would be out in the main square with a pile of wood around my ankles. I really feel that; it is remarkable how quickly the hysterical reaction takes hold and rains down upon those who question the consensus.

Oh, don’t worry. He really hasn’t converted religions. He may be saying that mankind isn’t causing global warming, but Alexander Cockburn quickly identifies the real culprit, who benefits from the scare mongering.

In truth, environmental catastrophism will, in fact it already has, play into the hands of sinister-as-always corporate interests. The nuclear industry is benefiting immeasurably from the current catastrophism.

Of course! It’s the evil corportate interests! Bwahahaha!

oh oh. Cockburn, the committed leftist, has just taken a look over his right shoulder and saw reality bearing down on him. I suggest that he read some David Horowitz before going much further to see what happens next.

Explore posts in the same categories: Global Warming, post-modernism

Leave a Reply

