Life After College

Marty Nemko at The Chronicle of Higher Education:

You could lock the collegebound in a closet for four years, and they’d still go on to earn more than the pool of non-collegebound – they’re brighter, more motivated, and have better family connections.

College graduates do undoubtedly earn more, lifetime, than those who don’t have a college degree. The problem, increasingly, is that over 40% of college freshmen at four year institutions don’t graduate after six years. They’ve spent the money, though.

Also, the past advantage of college graduates in the job market is eroding. Ever more students attend college at the same time as ever more employers are automating and sending offshore ever more professional jobs, and hiring part-time workers. Many college graduates are forced to take some very nonprofessional positions, such as driving a truck or tending bar.

Somehow, when someone asks the question “Where are the men?” I can’t help but think that this is part of the explanation.

Explore posts in the same categories: Education

2 Comments on “Life After College”


  1. After years of hard work, I found that the hardest part of college was not actually getting through it alive, or graduation, but actually getting a job. I found it really frustrating that even my own career services department at school was not really able to help me find a career after college.
    Since we are all in the same boat here I figured I would Google some sites that could help (like Monster) but everything was for those with more extensive job experience. One website I found was UVisor at http://www.uvisor.com which seems to be a really solid resource in linking up college students with employers as well as helping us students really figure out our career path. I forget what the statistic was specifically, but I remember it being something like 80% of people do not choose career paths that are pertinent to their majors.
    Anyway; definitely check out UVisor or AfterCollege or CollegeGrad (However UVisor is the only free service).

  2. joe Says:

    I had that same experience, Bryan. I don’t think I got any real help from “career councillors” worth the name, and that was a long time ago.

    I was fortunate in that I had a very good idea about what I wanted to do, and a pretty good idea about how to do it by the time I graduated. The only thing I wanted/needed career councillors” for was to check that there might be reasonable options that I had missed. Of course, the work I do for pay these days didn’t even exist 35 years ago…

    But don’t you just hate the idea that, career-wise, you just got lucky?

    Now here’s the contrary thought. What if the proper function of a college or university wasn’t to create tools for corporate America, but to create educated men and women? What would that look like?


Leave a Reply

