Why The Palin Baby Story Matters

And It Does

Well, I tried to stay away from politics.  I really did.  It’s just too interesting, and too important.

Via Byron York:

Delegates seem to love Palin. And when you start talking to them, you never know what you’ll find:

When the day’s business was over, I drifted around the Colorado and Ohio delegations – two critical swing states – to get a feel for the delegates’ reaction. In the Colorado section, I ran into Sue Sharkey, from Windsor. When I asked what she thought, her reaction was not about Palin but herself.

“For me personally, it hit my heart this morning,” Sharkey told me, “because I was a 17 year-old girl, just like Sarah Palin’s daughter, and I had – I was in those shoes. And my son is with me, who will be 35 years old next week, and so I know what a difficult road there is for her.”

It matters for all the right reasons. The story of Sarah Palin touches people personally, and not in an abstract way.

More from Don Surber.

Dude, nobody but a diehard Democrat and a member of the press believes 1.) that McCain didn’t know and 2.) that the pregnancy is a big deal.
My wife’s reaction: “What else is there to do in Alaska?”

Conservatives are not perfect people. We know that. Christians forgive. It is what they do. Girls get pregnant. So when she’s knocked up then you take her hand, wipe the tears and hug her. Because that’s what a parent does.
Someday, God will do the same for you.

That’s why it’s important.  And Oy! What he says about Lucianne Goldberg!

Oh, and I wouldn’t expect Gov. Palin to ask to be dropped from the ticket, either, as many on the left apparently do. Allahpundit at Hot Air quotes Time Magazine to make this point:

What the Republicans missed about Sarah Palin then – and what the Democrats seem poised to miss now – is that she is a true political savant; a candidate with a knack for identifying the key gripes of the populace and packaging herself as the solution. That keen political nose has enabled her to routinely outperform her resume.

Read through this indispensable Time magazine story, dateline Wasilla, for a description of the sort of hardball Mayor Palin used to play. The hockey mom evidently knows how to use social issues to her advantage.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholism, domestic, politics

Leave a Reply

