When The Quiet Returns

And Where It’s Not So Quiet

After a hectic, wonderful week, the relatives have left for home and the katz have come out of hiding.  We’re getting back, more or less, to the usual routine, which will not be the usual routine because of the coming holiday and concomitant travel.   I won’t complain – I see the news.

I also won’t claim to know what’s happened in Mumbai, the former Bombay, a city of 19 million people.  It’s awful, and I find little of it explicable.  I understand this least of all.

“Towards the station entrance, there are a number of bookshops and one of the bookstore owners was trying to close his shop,” he recalled. “The gunmen opened fire and the shopkeeper fell down.”

But what angered Mr D’Souza almost as much were the masses of armed police hiding in the area who simply refused to shoot back. “There were armed policemen hiding all around the station but none of them did anything,” he said. “At one point, I ran up to them and told them to use their weapons. I said, ‘Shoot them, they’re sitting ducks!’ but they just didn’t shoot back.”

John Hinderaker from Powerline has thoughts that I can agree with.

If Mr. D’Souza ever wants to emigrate to the United States, we’ll take him.

I wondered earlier today how a mere ten terrorists could bring a city of 19 million to a standstill. Here in the U.S., I don’t think it would happen. I think we have armed security guards who know how to use their weapons, supplemented by an unknown number of private citizens who are armed and capable of returning fire. The Indian experience shows it is vitally important that this continue to be the case. This is a matter of culture as much as, or more than, a matter of laws.

They say it’s over now in Mumbai, and quiet.  I hope so.  There should be music.  Silent Night, Holy Night.

Explore posts in the same categories: domestic, foreign

Leave a Reply

