The Ordinary and The Extraordinary

And The Sounds of Silence, Too

Forgive me the dearth of posts these last two weeks.  It’s not that I’ve had nothing to write about, or nothing on my mind.  Indeed, there’s been too much of both.

There are big things happening in the world, not the least of which is N. Korea’s new found missile capability, taxes and tea parties, rights and wrongs. The small things have caught my attention – a single line; “Take off your watch.” in a television show, an unexpected triumph of substance over style.

It’s not because of her magnificent voice, although that gift from God is happily now in our awareness.

It’s because it should not have taken that exposition for people to think well of her.

Susan Boyle embarrassed the judges, although they seemed barely aware of that.  Truth be told, we should all be embarrassed, for we make the Susan Boyles of the world invisible.  It’s a mistake.

I did something a little different for Lent this year; a little thing. I made a point of making eye contact with people I passed in the hall at work (there are about 800 people in the building).  I greeted everyone I could with “Hi” or “Hey!” or “Good-morning”, or anything to acknowledge their existence (and not just the babes, for you sceptics).  That’s something that I stopped doing too many years ago in this cold town.  For that, I am embarrassed.

I didn’t expect the results.  People do respond in kind, of course. But they go out of their way to be kind, sometimes.  They even learn your name, somehow.  It changes you.  You stop being invisible when you see others.

That’s not a little thing, you know.

Explore posts in the same categories: Catholism, Personal

Leave a Reply

